Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Author Topic: SpamAssassin Outdated Lunarpages Not Updating SA Confs, Tests or BLs  (Read 10769 times)

Offline lptrouble

Disclaimer I have no experience installing or maintaining servers of any sort. I'm asking here as LP is skirting the issue when confronted with the below:

I'm on Galaxy and having major spam issues, almost 200+ messages a day, which began seemingly overnight in an otherwise uneventful 10 years of hosted email.

SpamAssassin is enabled and running. It's working in that it scans and flags email. However, 80-90% of it is being flagged too low thanks to a combination of tests (total scoring in 1 - 2 range) and consequently messages are making it safely to my inboxes.

Where I'm confused: If I paste those same messages into an online check service like spamcheck.postmarkapp.com, I get results with a completely different set of flagged tests than LP's output. For example, tests for RIBL_DBL_SPAM are not triggered and simply missing.

As a result, LP hosted email that was flagged as 1 comes back scoring 9, 12 or higher online. Is this normal? Why would the two instances differ so much? This seems like such a basic yet steep difference that something feels misconfigured or outdated.

After weeks of back and forth: LP's suggestion is to add rules, tweak symbolic test scores and rely on more Bayesian filtering/learning. Why should this have to happen if other installs of SA are accurately marking spam. If the addresses and servers have already been compiled as spam by trustworthy RBLs, why isn't LP using them?

This other post describes the same issue. Unfortunately I'm not savvy enough to throw a shell command to see if my SA is equally outdated. Either way, it's ridiculous their "solution" required going to a third party service.

I'm more than likely not understanding something fundamental. Can someone shed some light?

Offline doncht

• Intergalactic Cowboy