Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Author Topic: How To: Correct the issue with hotlink protection  (Read 15331 times)

leighsww

  • Guest
How To: Correct the issue with hotlink protection
« Reply #30 on: May 23, 2004, 06:36:14 PM »
Elizabeth -

By looking at your code, it looks like LP might have changed the "hotlinks protection" script, so that the trailing frontslash issue is resolved now without having to revise the "htaccess" file as originally explained (I am not 100% certain about this, though).

But just for your info, this:

Code: [Select]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(www\.)?elizabethhanes.com(/)?.*$ [NC]

would take the place of all those four lines.

However, since your domain is working with and without the trailing frontslash as it is (I just checked), best you just leave your htaccess file alone.

Offline satirista

  • Spacescooter Operator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31
    • http://www.elizabethhanes.com
How To: Correct the issue with hotlink protection
« Reply #31 on: May 23, 2004, 07:12:42 PM »
Thanks, leighsww. I appreciate the update. I don't have qualms about doing things like editing the htaccess, but on the other hand, I don't like to go messing with it if I don't have to!

Elizabeth

Offline vcheewei

  • Spaceship Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 81
How To: Correct the issue with hotlink protection
« Reply #32 on: June 26, 2004, 07:08:32 PM »
Hello everyone, i had a problem over here. I own a links site. It grows quite fast and became popular. I have a logo which i allow alot of sites to direct linking to it. It was a .jpg file. So i do not wish to block that.
My layout's images and other stuff are in gif.


Recently, i found out that people is using IFRAME tag to link to my main page.

Which is a .php file. Is that a good idea to block .php files?

Code: [Select]
RewriteRule .*\.(gif|php)$ - [F,NC]

Will search engine stop listing me?
Also, i would wanna know is that anyway in php coding that i can block the referal url coming from that page and redirect him to other page?

Please help, those people are bandwidth suckers. My bandwidth always exceeds.

Offline MPG

  • Spaceship Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 85
    • http://www.multiplayergames.com
How To: Correct the issue with hotlink protection
« Reply #33 on: June 26, 2004, 09:44:43 PM »
I have been having some of the same problems mentioned here.  The problem is using cPanel along with editing the .htaccess file.  I posted in another forum all my .htacces code with the problem but never got a response.  I have a bit of a different problem.  

I need to protect my site from people grabbing images and huge files, while still being able to call images from code pointing to them from other areas.  I also have the problem of having my site located in a directory "/main" because I use phpnuke.  This all sounds simple but for some reason it hasnt been. . .

I plan on posting the code and problem in total detail here, but I have to sort it out into a legible format for this forum because I think no one answered my last post because it was too confusing.  Also wanted to see if anyone was up for the challenge.

more to come soon.

Offline mongo106

  • Trekkie
  • **
  • Posts: 12
How To: Correct the issue with hotlink protection
« Reply #34 on: February 11, 2005, 03:22:44 AM »
Quote from: jsinger
Hmmm, I cleard my cache and it was still showing up... but I did it again after a reboot now its not showing up... DOH!

Jeff


You're not by chance a Jeff Singer that lived in De Luz California are you?

Offline vizcares

  • Spaceship Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 84
    • http://www.vizcares.com
How To: Correct the issue with hotlink protection
« Reply #35 on: April 01, 2005, 02:19:12 PM »
Quote from: Hush
Hotlink protection stops files from being linked to, or viewed directly.  However, you are able to specify which domains are able to hotlink to your media in order that you can, for example, post images on forums.


Is it possible to make it the other way around, that means, allow everybody to hotlink, except one place?

the case is that someone is taking a .htm page and making it look like theirs, so I would just stop people from that one site to get to my file

Thanks in advance

Offline Razzelle

  • Spacescooter Operator
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
    • http://www.greenleafladysworld.com
How To: Correct the issue with hotlink protection
« Reply #36 on: May 31, 2005, 07:15:25 AM »
Okay, I have a question.  I want to add a message board to be able to link to my site....how do I add it.

I tried in the cpanel hotlink part, doesnt work.  Why does this hotlink have to be such a pain?


What line do I add in my .htaccess edit from the file manager to get this to work?

and do I just add the name of the forum as such.


Code: [Select]
www.forum/forumname/index.php?

to allow the forum to hotlink?