Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Author Topic: How to access webmail  (Read 7888 times)

Offline Temponz

  • Trekkie
  • **
  • Posts: 18
How to access webmail
« on: November 20, 2003, 06:04:19 PM »
Hi Ho, I'm kinda in one of those situations where I could play around for a coue of hours and probably work it out (or find the answer somewhere) or simply ask (Hey, I'm a male, asking directions/instructions doesn't come natural for us :-))

If I had a number of people with webmail accounts what isthe url I would use for them to be able to login to their accounts :
Is it http://www.mydomain.com/webmail ? Currently using that username it asks for a username and password which I presume is the  mymailaccount+mydomain.com. and then email password. From there it takes me to the screen offering Horde, Neomail and Squirrlmail, which I again would have to enter a username and password to for Horde?

(1) Can I restrick it so they can only access Horde (Or is their a URL directly to Horde)

(2) Is there an easy way to pass the password+username to Horde itself so they don't have to enter it twice?

This is probably one of those dumb questions that is answered 10 other palces and I am going to look a silly newbie.. hey someone has to (And as i always tell my staff NO question is a dumb question..)

Thanks in advance all

Offline Ed

  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
    • Joke A Whenever
How to access webmail
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2003, 12:01:25 PM »
Setup a subdomain webmail.domain.com
Make it point to:

http://www.domain.com:2095/horde/index.php

For using horde as the main program.

Once you login to that page, the username and password will automatically show, and just needs to be clicked.

Let me know if that works!

- Ed

Offline monkey

  • Pong! (the videogame) Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 29
How to access webmail
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2003, 10:37:15 AM »
on the subdomain page, it says the feature has to be enabled manually on my account.  how do you do that?  i signed up for the shuttle hosting plan so i should have 15 subdomains available, right?

Offline Ed

  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
    • Joke A Whenever
How to access webmail
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2003, 11:11:18 AM »
Are you looking at the subdomain or the addon domain page? They are differnt. The shuttle plan does not include any addon domains, but does include sub-domains.

It should be there. Just double check it was the subdomain option first.

- Ed

Offline monkey

  • Pong! (the videogame) Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 29
How to access webmail
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2003, 11:18:38 AM »
i am looking at the Subdomain page...not Add-on.

Offline Ed

  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
    • Joke A Whenever
How to access webmail
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2003, 11:20:25 AM »
hmm... strange. You may want to email support@ and let them know, because you should be able to add subdomains.

- Ed

Offline monkey

  • Pong! (the videogame) Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 29
How to access webmail
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2003, 12:01:13 PM »
ok, i will.  thanks!

Offline Hush

  • Über Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2830
How to access webmail
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2003, 08:03:38 PM »
As a thought for people using multiple addon domains.  If you create a subdomain to an addon domain, it still appears as a folder under public html (so it seems).  So if you have as addons
Quote

domain1.com
domain2.com

you will have these as folders within public_html.  If you were then to create a subdomain on domain1.com called webmail you would have the folder 'webmail' created within public_html.

However, if you then create a subdomain on domain2.com called webmail it would simply overwrite the first webmail folder, as you can only have one thing with a single name.

So in this circumstance, create a folder named webmail inside your addon domain folder eg

Quote

public_html/domain1/webmail
public_html/domain2/webmail


Now this obviously doesn't immediately help you.  But now you can have them separated properly.  So now you need to create a simple index.htm file with the following contents:

Quote

<html>
<head>
<title></title>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="refresh" CONTENT="0;URL=http://www.domain.com:2095/horde/index.php">
</head>
<body>
</body>
</html>


Of course you can make this as fancy as you like.  But remember it will only show for a couple of seconds - up to about 5, and you may like to add a text link, for those using browsers that don't support auto redirect.

Finally if you don't want to use horde, you can opt for the others

Quote

http://www.domainname.com:2082/neomail/neomail.pl

Quote

http://www.domainname.com:2082/3rdparty/squirrelmail/index.php
<- From the ashes will rise a phoenix ->

Lunarpages Web Hosting || Lunarpages Forums || Lunarpages Affiliate Program