Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Author Topic: Please help with gallery  (Read 1919 times)

Offline belyn

• Trekkie
Please help with gallery
« on: May 23, 2012, 10:45:20 AM »
Hi there,

I am a complete beginner with HTML, CSS, etc.  I have managed to put together a website with a very basic gallery but I'd like to jazz it up a little bit.  I want to be able to click on one of the thumbnails and, once it's open, have arrows/buttons that allow one to go forward and backward in each gallery.  I have been researching it online for the last week but I can't seem to find anything to work with my pages.  As I said, I am a complete beginner, so I am probably missing the most obvious solution.

If anyone could tell me which html code to put in my index page or CSS, I would greatly appreciate it.  I would like to use it on the galleries of http://www.bannister-weimann.com.  

Also, maybe someone knows the answer to this...  When I click on one of my gallery pictures in Firefox, it opens in the middle with a dark gray background.  When I open it in Opera, it's a white background.  In IE, it's a white background, but the picture is all the way to the left, not centered.  Does anyone know how I can make this the same for all 3 browsers (centered with, preferably, a black background)?  

Thanks so much for any help!

« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 06:06:00 AM by belyn »

Offline MrPhil

• Senior Moderator
  • Berserker Poster
Re: Please help with gallery
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2012, 11:25:01 AM »
I am a complete beginner with HTML, CSS, etc.  I have managed to put together a website with a very basic gallery but I'd like to jazz it up a little bit.  I want to be able to click on one of the thumbnails and, once it's open, have arrows/buttons that allow one to go forward and backward in each gallery. 

Have you considered using any of the prewritten gallery applications, including those offered on Fantastico or Softaculous? That might be easier than rolling your own.