Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Author Topic: My first swing at CSS  (Read 1864 times)

Offline SOU610

• Jabba the Hutt
    • Tennessee Valley Railroad Museum
My first swing at CSS
« on: December 30, 2005, 07:19:50 PM »
OK, I'm kinda hyped, I've built up a new website and decided, what the hey, I talked (or assisted at least ;) ) EOBeav into trying Dreamweaver and thus let him talk me into buying a CSS book.  (Well actually I'm getting reimbursed so I guess a book got bought for me. :D )

Thus this is my first attempt at a pure CSS-styled website, and man was it hard to force myself not to fiddle with HTML attributes.

It's a pure rough-in at the moment so it only consists of 6 pages and some sample downloadable files.  I'm intending it to be a prototype to try to get a new feel for the subventure we're trying and to give CSS a try.

So, let me have it.  I've only tried it in FF 1.5 and IE 6 so there might be other brower issues I don't know about yet.

Hiwassee River Rails Adventures
User: HRRA
Pwd: HRRA
(To keep out bots and the railfans trying to get early info... not that there's any on the site right now.)

Offline EOBeav

• LF Knothead of the year, 2005
  • Jedi
  • Gee, Wally, do you really think I can learn this php/MySQL stuff too?
    • Google Page
Re: My first swing at CSS
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2005, 11:02:28 PM »
Hey, it looks great!  And I see you used the tabbed navigation from that book.  It really fits in with the rest of the page nicely.  I like your color selection on here too.  My only comment would be that the text in the header is a little difficult to read at first. 

Congratulations on a great first effort.  Will this organization be using your work?
If you can't design an attractive, standards-compliant website using nothing more than Notepad and a decent graphics editor, you need to rethink your approach to web design.

Offline SOU610

• Jabba the Hutt
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2006, 06:21:27 AM »