Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Author Topic: Batch multiple images for resize...  (Read 4202 times)

Offline ozdemir

  • Intergalactic Cowboy
  • *****
  • Posts: 60
    • http://www.dynadome.com
Batch multiple images for resize...
« on: October 06, 2004, 09:36:19 PM »
Is there a program/tool that will allow a user to batch a number of files from differing sizes down to say 800x600?  I have about a 100 files are different sizes and i want them to be the same size so that when they click on the image in the photo gallery, the same size popup opens.  Plus, these files right now are about 500kb each.  Too big IMO.  Thanks.

ozdemir
Leader in Pool Enclosures - Dyna Products - www.dynadome.com
ozdemir@dynadome.com Email me

Offline TranzNDance

  • Princess of Naboo
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 11567
    • Thu Tu's Blog
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2004, 09:39:59 PM »
If you have photoshop, it does it. Windows XP has a resize tool. Do you have any image processing software?
:whip: :love: :whip: :love: :whip: :love:

Offline GMTurner

  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7479
    • Turner's Lounge
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2004, 09:40:03 PM »
I use irfanview ( http://www.irfanview.com/ ) for most of my batch resizing/renaming functions on windows. There might be other, potentially better, tools out there, but this one has worked for me... speaking of which I need to get around to updating my copy of it...

Oh, and it is freeware...
The above information may or may not reflect current policy, opinions, or views since it was likely made almost 10 years ago.

Offline ozdemir

  • Intergalactic Cowboy
  • *****
  • Posts: 60
    • http://www.dynadome.com
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2004, 09:41:25 PM »
wow, thanks guys.  i have photoshop 7 but haven't used it extensively.  i will try it out.  if i can't figure it out, i will try the irfanview.  thanks again guys.
Leader in Pool Enclosures - Dyna Products - www.dynadome.com
ozdemir@dynadome.com Email me

Offline pheared

  • Intergalactic Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 193
    • http://pheared.net
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2004, 05:11:05 AM »
imagemagick is a great tool for just this purpose.

Offline GarveysIT

  • Web Design SEO England UK
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 11648
  • Web Design SEO England UK
    • Web Design | SEO | IT Support Stockton-on-Tees, Middlesbrough, Darlington, Durham
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2004, 05:12:42 AM »
i prefer photoshop elements for this

Offline pheared

  • Intergalactic Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 193
    • http://pheared.net
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2004, 05:15:31 AM »
Can you script photoshop from the command line?

Offline TranzNDance

  • Princess of Naboo
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 11567
    • Thu Tu's Blog
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2004, 05:58:56 AM »
Heh... would most people these days know how to use the command line? :?
:whip: :love: :whip: :love: :whip: :love:

Offline pheared

  • Intergalactic Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 193
    • http://pheared.net
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2004, 06:07:57 AM »
Well, they should.  Especially if they ever want to do something in bulk.  (Which was the point of this thread.)

I've converted hundreds of pictures picked up from cameras without even needing to sit in front of the computer (I ssh'd in ;-) )

There is a great essay by one of my favorite authors that you can download and read here:
http://www.cryptonomicon.com/beginning.html

It's entitled "In the beginning was the command line."

Offline GarveysIT

  • Web Design SEO England UK
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 11648
  • Web Design SEO England UK
    • Web Design | SEO | IT Support Stockton-on-Tees, Middlesbrough, Darlington, Durham
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2004, 06:18:40 AM »
when theirs software that can do it for you, then who needs command line :)

Offline TranzNDance

  • Princess of Naboo
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 11567
    • Thu Tu's Blog
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2004, 06:19:39 AM »
In the beginning there were single-celled organisms and look where we've come. :D
:whip: :love: :whip: :love: :whip: :love:

Offline happysteve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • http://www.yankovic.org/
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2004, 06:22:44 AM »
If you use WindowsXP, there's a free PowerToy called ImageResizer at
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx

Offline pheared

  • Intergalactic Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 193
    • http://pheared.net
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2004, 06:27:09 AM »
The point is that the command-line is the most direct, succinct way to make the computer do something.  Most GUI programs are not good when it comes to repeating a task hundreds of times on different data.  At best, they will do it slowly.  At worst, they will have an awful interface that requires twenty minutes of clicking, if you know what you're doing.  Often times they can handle the single iteration but not the loop.  The GUI's author expects the user to handle the loop.  The mouse is highly inaccurate, the keyboard is accurate.  Pressing the enter key is much different from moving the mouse pointer over a region on the screen and clicking the button.  We don't measure people in terms of CPM (Clicks Per Minute); we use WPM.

There _is_ software to do it for me and it's called an interactive shell.  I can manipulate thousands of images with one typed command line.  Or I can manipulate thousands of _insert_data_type_here_ with one typed command line.  Being generic is great; no need for multiple, disparate, complicated GUIs.  No fuss.

In many ways GUIs are more complex.

Offline TranzNDance

  • Princess of Naboo
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 11567
    • Thu Tu's Blog
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2004, 06:33:49 AM »
Well, my point was what comes in the beginning does not make it the best solution. However, I would agree that sometimes command lines do provide better and the most efficient results. Alas, it requires memorizing more things, and since there is a finite amount of data our brains can store and recall, I'd rather leave room for other things. :D
:whip: :love: :whip: :love: :whip: :love:

Offline pheared

  • Intergalactic Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 193
    • http://pheared.net
Batch multiple images for resize...
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2004, 06:36:56 AM »
That's why you write it down into a script, and just call the script in the future.  If you're stuck on Windows, you can do this with Batch files.  Either way, the only thing to remember past that is syntax, and even then you can offload that information by keeping a link to a shell reference.

Also, I know you didn't read the essay, just the title.  It doesn't argue that since something comes in the beginning it is therefore better.  No one is arguing that.