Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Author Topic: Writing to file with PHP - noob with problem  (Read 2715 times)

Offline 6string

• Pong! (the videogame) Master
Writing to file with PHP - noob with problem
« on: June 13, 2004, 01:00:27 PM »
Greets lunarpeople,

I'm a bit of a noob with PHP, and was wondering if someone could help me out with a little problem I'm having.

I have a small .php file that I am using to write to a text file.  All of this is done on the server side and I have permissions set on the file for writing as well as reading.  When the script runs, I get a page listing errors, starting with something that looks like this...

Warning: fopen(airhead_fs9_deke.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/.../airworthy/download/dl.php on line 17

Anyone here doing charity work and can give me some direction as to what is going wrong?
Regards,
Dave

Offline TranzNDance

• Princess of Naboo
  • Berserker Poster
    • Thu Tu's Blog
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2004, 01:39:36 PM »
Could you please show us what is on line 17, and a few lines above and below it?

Also, /home/.../airworthy/download/dl.php  what does the ... signify? Is it username/public_html ?

What exactly is the CHMOD value that you have for the file? It would be a 3-digit number with values of 5, 6, or 7.
:whip: :love: :whip: :love: :whip: :love:

Offline 6string

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2004, 02:14:59 PM »
Ok, there are two parts, one is invoked if the txt file doesn't exist, the other is invoked if it it does.  Very similar in code.  Anyway...

This is what I am using in my href:
http://airhead.hfdd.com/airworthy/download/dl.php?file=airhead_fs9_deke&type=.zip

This is the first few lines of PHP file:
$FILE=$_GET[file];
$TYPE=$_GET[type];

Starting at line 17 (lines above this are for if file already exists, both produce same error)
if (!file_exists("$FILE.txt"))
{
$_file=fopen("$FILE.txt","w+");
$contents=fread($_file,filesize("$FILE.txt"));
settype($contents, "integer");