Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Web Hosting Guidance and Advice => LPCP Control Panel Help and Tips => Topic started by: belyn on May 11, 2012, 09:13:37 AM

Title: Addon domain help, please
Post by: belyn on May 11, 2012, 09:13:37 AM
Hi there,

I have a problem that I'm hoping someone here can help me with... I added an addon domain (it is registered) into my primary domain's public_html folder.  To try it out, I uploaded my primary domain's .css file and the index.html into the folder of my addon domain.  The .site isn't recognizing the .css file, because none of the fonts or colors are showing up.  I thought that maybe it was because I used the same files from my initial site, so I used a friend's .css and index.html and it does the same thing.  I tried this with the .css file in the html.dir of my new folder and just in the new folder.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?  From what I've read online, it seemed as if I was just supposed to upload my files for the new site into the folder for the new domain.

Forgive me for being clueless - I don't know much about websites.  I have tried looking for an answer here on the forum, but I haven't found anything. 

Any help would be appreciated.  Please let me know if you need any additional information.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Addon domain help, please
Post by: MrPhil on May 11, 2012, 09:53:23 AM
It's finding the .html file OK, but not the .css? If so, it sounds like the add-on domain was added correctly. How is the .html file trying to find the .css file? Does it have a hard coded http://olddomain/path/name.css in it? It should be just /path/name.css. What do you have there? Don't forget that / already includes the add-on directory .../public_html/myaddon/. Is there anything inside the .css file referring to the old domain or its path structure (if different from the new add-on domain)?
Title: Re: Addon domain help, please
Post by: belyn on May 11, 2012, 10:37:44 AM
Hi there,

Thanks so much for answering.  

Before reading your post, I had the html trying to locate the .css file with the original path.  I changed it to the current path but it's still not recognizing it.  I don't think that there's anything in the original .css that's referencing either site.  If it's ok, I'll post both the css file and the index.html here.  Maybe that will help...

**All of the images/links are from the primary domain.  


Title: Re: Addon domain help, please
Post by: Hush on May 11, 2012, 10:55:09 AM
Change your link to:

Code: [Select]
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://bannister-weimann.com/html/honour17.css" />
You don't need to reference the primary domain or the public_html folder.

Alternatively use a relative link if you are likely to use the file on multiple domains:
Code: [Select]
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/html/honour17.css" />
Title: Re: Addon domain help, please
Post by: belyn on May 11, 2012, 12:00:43 PM
That fixed it!  Thank you so much!   :happy:
Title: Re: Addon domain help, please
Post by: Hush on May 11, 2012, 12:12:06 PM
You're welcome  :thumb:

Props to Mr. Phil - I was just following his lead  :thumbs:
Title: Re: Addon domain help, please
Post by: MrPhil on May 11, 2012, 02:53:57 PM
Props to Mr. Phil - I was just following his lead  :thumbs:

Huh, I thought I was following you...   :hypno:
Title: Re: Addon domain help, please
Post by: Hush on May 12, 2012, 01:27:07 AM
No wonder we're lost if we're each following the other  :rofl:
Title: Re: Addon domain help, please
Post by: belyn on May 23, 2012, 10:46:34 AM
Thanks to both of you!   :clap: