Lunarpages Web Hosting Forum

Scripting Languages Hosting Help => Ruby Hosting Support => Topic started by: superbnerb on October 27, 2007, 04:01:36 AM

Title: symlink to an ADD ON domain SOLVED.. read me if you are having trouble.
Post by: superbnerb on October 27, 2007, 04:01:36 AM
hi all,

i have a symlink in my public_html/railsapp folder.

when i go to railsapp.com, i see the structure of railsapp (i.e. it shows parent directory at the top of the page, with 2 folders, one symlink'd to my rails app and another cgi, plus an index_old.html file.)

if i navigate to railsapp/public then my routes.rb file takes over and routes me to my dedicated index page. ( i changed it up so it didn't go to index but /controller/index.)

having not seen an answer other then change public_html (i have 6 other sites in that directory that shouldn't have to be effected).

i hope this thread doesn't dry up.  shared hosts and ruby are supposed to be easy!

------------------SOLUTION---------------

From the 'gotta help myself cause no one else is gonna' dept.

Code: [Select]
ln -s /home/user/yourapp/public /home/user/public_html/addondomainname/
In a nutshell, if your addon name exists in public_html, either rename the folder, or if there isn't anything in there of value, delete it.
Title: Re: symlink to an ADD ON domain SOLVED.. read me if you are having trouble.
Post by: polomasta on January 16, 2008, 06:43:27 AM
I have been wondering about this also... thanks for the tip.

I am also coming up against a specific issue... I want to install the Typo blogging engine on one of my addon domains so that when I navigate to www.myaddondomain.com/blog it brings me to the typo interface, while simply going to www.myaddondomain.com takes me to the regular index.html pages and the non-rails site.

Can anyone provide specific instructions on how to do this? Is it even possible? I am on azteca servers if that makes any difference. LP support won't help me out at all.
Title: Re: symlink to an ADD ON domain SOLVED.. read me if you are having trouble.
Post by: thesuper on January 02, 2017, 03:04:20 PM
Did you ever get this working?  I've been struggling to get my Rails app ported over from another hosting company.  They created the folder for me and already created a sym link to it so I think I'm covered as to the original post.  When I go to http://www.mydomain/myapp/ it just gives an http 500 error.  Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
David